Forums Forums Public High Lakes Forum High lakes discussion Help IDing fish and another question

Tagged: 

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author
      Ryan Bowering
      Participant

Hi everyone,
        Can I get a little help IDing these fish? Hopefully you can see enough to help me out. We only have rainbows where I’m from, and I’m not good at telling apart the cuts from the rainbow out here.
        I know to look for the red marks on the throat, but not exactly sure what I should be seeing, and also jawline helps right? Spots below the lateral line I know is an indicator…

Any tips would be helpful, I don’t want to misrepresent the species in my reports.

Also,
        what’s the etiquette on cleaning fish lakeside?

thanks everyone!

Attachments:
        Brian Curtis
        Keymaster

Those are coastal cutthroat (CT) trout. Spotting for westslope CT is much different. The red slashes under the jaws are prominent in most of the pictured fish. CT also have maxillary (upper jaw) that extend past their eyes. Otherwise coastal CT look a lot like RB.

Fish guts should have their air bladders slit so that they sink and they should be thrown well out into the lake so they are out of sight. That will help return nutrients to the lake that the fish will otherwise have utilized.

Looks like you had a fun day!

Ryan Bowering
          Participant

Thanks Brian! I thought most of them were cutthroats, but there are two with jawlines that made me question it!

That was 2 different evenings! My first 5 fish in WA, and very very satisfying. Catching fish out here is a lot different than the quintessential worm and bobber that you throw in literally ANY lake in Newfoundland that I’m used to, so I was super excited to land a couple. It was getting a little disheartening. lol. Also, I caught them from an inflatable Kayak, which is just such a lovely way to spend the evening in WA anyways, let alone fishing. What a couple of days. Love it.